January 16

Do you have some, or maybe even a lot of pictures you’ve shot with iPhone that you’d like to turn off the Live Photos effect? Follow along for how to turn off Live Photos for existing pictures.

Live Photos is a neat feature that captures 1.5 seconds before and after you snap an image that can really bring a moment to life. But sometimes you might have had the feature turned on by accident when you really just wanted a standard still photo.

Fortunately, Apple lets iPhone users turn off the Live Photos feature for pictures you’ve already taken.

iPhone: How to turn off Live Photos for existing pictures

Note: these steps work on iPad as well.

  1. Open the Photos app and select the image you’d like to remove Live from (you can see all your Live Photos by going to Albums > swipe down to Media Types > Live Photos)
  2. Tap Edit in the top right corner
  3. Tap the Live Photos icon (circle with 3 rings) in the bottom left-ish corner (middle left on iPad)
  4. Tap the yellow Live button in the top middle of your screen, then hit Done

How to turn of Live Photos for existing pictures

Now you can make it a standard still photo by tapping the yellow Live button in the top center of your screen as shown below then hit Done.

Now your photo will show a diagonal line through “Live” confirming it’s just a still image now.

How to turn of Live Photos for existing pictures walkthrough 2

Read more 9to5Mac tutorials: 

iPhone & iPad:

AirPods Pro:

Mac:

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.

Longvadon Watch Bands

Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

You’re reading 9to5Mac — experts who break news about Apple and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Mac on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Powered by WordPress.com VIP